Jainism is a very popular culture in India. The state of Uttar Pradesh has many historical dramas and mythologies. There are innumerable Jain Shrines that dot the state of Uttar Pradesh and speak of a myriad intimate association with the lives and activities of the Jain Tirthankars, who have always spread the message of non-violence, love, and enlightenment. The State of Uttar Pradesh holds an immense attraction for all those who desire to see the great Jain architecture splendor.


Sri Sambhavnath is the 3rd Tirthankar in the Jain religion. He was born on the 15th day in the city of Shravasti. It was here that he attained the ultimate knowledge through meditation.


Sri Suparshavanath was born in “Bhadani Muhallah” which is situated on the banks of River Ganges in Varanasi. Also known as “Jain Ghat” this place is about 1.5 km away from Bhelupura. Sri Suparshavanath was the 7th Jain Tīrthankara of the present age and was born to King Pratistha and Queen Prithvi at Varanasi on the 12th Jestha Shukla in the Ikshvaku clan.


Sri Dharmanath was born in Ratnapuri on the third day of the bright half of the month of Magh and was the 15th Tirthankar in the Jain Religion. His father was King Bhanu and mother was Suvrata Devi.


Sri Chandraprabhu the 8th Jain Tirthankara was born in Chandrapuri a town which is located on the banks of River Ganges, about 20 km. away from Varanasi. Sri Chandraprabhu was born to King Mahasena and Queen Lakshmana Devi of the Ikshvaku dynasty.


Sri Adinath also referred to as Lord Vrishabhnath is the first Tirthankar who was born in Swargdwar in Ayodhya who traveled and taught the timeless Jain Literature.


Sri Suvidhanath is the 9th Tirthankar who is also known as Lord Pushpadanta. Who became a Siddha (Liberated soul). He was born to King Sugriva and Rama Devi in the Ikshvaku race in the land of Kakandi in Uttar Pradesh.


Sri Ajitnath is the second Trithankar who was born in Baksaria Tola in Ayodhya, this place is also known as Begampura. There is a temple dedicated to him which is known as “Ajitnath ki Tok”.


Sri Sitalnath was born in Bhadilpur on the 12th day of the dark half of the month Magh. He was the 10th Tirthankar in the Jain religion to be born to King Dridhrath and Nanda Devi.


Sri Sreyansnath the 11th Tirthankara of Jain Religion was born at Singhpuri, which is near Sarnath in Ikshvaku Dynasty. According to Jain beliefs, it is said, he became a Siddha, a liberated soul which has destroyed all of its karma. Lord Sreyansnath was born to King Vishnu and Queen Vishnu Devi of Ikshvaku Dynasty. His birth date was the twelfth day of the Falgun Krishna month of the Indian calendar.


Sri Abhinandannath was born in Ramkot Muhalla in Ayodhya. He was the 4th Tirthankar of the Jain Religion who is said to have lived 50 lakh Purva. There also a temple which is dedicated to him in Ayodhya.


Sri Sumatinath was born in Muhalla Mondhiana Rajghat in Ayodhya. He was the 5th Tirthankar in the Jain Religion. There is a temple here which is dedicated to him.


Sri Vimalnath was born in Kampil on the 3rd day of the birth half of the month of Magh. He was the 13th Tirthankar who was born to Kritvarma and Shyama Devi.


Sri Padma Prabhu is the 6th Tirthankar in the Jain Religion who was born in Kaushambi. Sri Padma Prabhu grew up and received his education in Kaushambi.


Sri Anantnath was the 14th Tirthankar who was born in Ayodhya on the 13th day of the dark half of the month of Vaishaka. His Father was Sihansen and mother was Suyasa.


Sri Parshavnath the 23rd Tirthankara of Jain religion was born in Bhelupura. He is the earliest Jain Tirthankara who is generally acknowledged as a historical figure. Bhelupura has a 60 cm long white statue and a 75 cms long black idol. Sri Parshavanath is credited with starting the tradition of "fourfold restraints" for monks – don't kill, don't steal, don't lie and don't own property.